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MONOPOLY CHAMPIONSHIP FAQs

GENERAL CHAMPIONSHIP FAQs
1. Will the 2009 MONOPOLY Championships use the Speed Die rules?
Yes

2. How much money does each player start with?
$1,500. (2 x $500, 4 x $100, 1 x $50, 1 x $20, 2 x $10, 1 x $5 and 5 x $1).

3. Can I play using my own lucky MONOPOLY token? 
No. You must use a token from the game being used in the Championship.

4. Can I keep my money in my pocket or under the table?
No. Your money must be in view of the banker, judge and other players during play. You can leave it in a pile and even turn it face down, so it’s not clear exactly how much you have, but it must all be on the table – you can’t hide a note in your pocket and put it back into play later. 

· You can briefly count your money out of sight of other players (e.g. under the table) before putting it back in full view of others. 

· You do not have to tell anyone exactly how much money you have, even if asked.

5. Can I ask a friend, observer or interpreter for game advice during play?
No. You cannot take advice from anyone during the game. Interpreters may only communicate what someone else has said and must not offer advice of any kind. 

Note: One player telling another to mortgage a particular property in order to change the outcome of the game counts as advice and is against the rules.

6. If the time runs out in a time-limit game, does play stop immediately, or do all players left in the game take an equal number of turns?

No. When the time is up, the player whose turn is it finishes their turn. The game is then over.

RENT
7. How long do I have to ask for rent?
In Championship Monopoly, you can ask for rent until the second player to your left throws the dice. This is to encourage good sportsmanship.

E.G. Player A lands on your property, Player B takes a turn. You can still ask for rent. As soon as the dice leave Player C’s hand, you have missed your chance.

8. Can I ask another player what the rent is on one of their properties? 

Yes. You don’t have to land on a space to ask what its rent is.

9. Am I allowed to accept property instead of rent?

Yes, but this is classed as a trade. This means that if you owe two rents on one turn after rolling Mr Monopoly on the Speed Die, players you owe money to cannot accept properties instead of rent. See FAQ 41.

10. What happens if someone calls for rent while the next player has just thrown the dice?  

If the dice are already on the table when someone calls for rent, the roller moves their token and takes action for the space they land on. Once their turn is over, the other player can collect the rent owed from earlier in the game. 

If the dice are still in the air when someone calls for rent, place the roll to one side and settle the rent immediately. The roller then moves according to their roll (unless they were the rent-payer and were bankrupted on that turn).

TURNS

11. When does a turn actually end?

When a player has rolled the dice once, moved and carried out any actions on that space, their turn is officially over. If they rolled a double, their first turn ends before they roll again. Their next roll counts as an extra turn. This means that other players can trade between the end of that player’s first roll and their extra roll.

12. Once I roll the dice, do I have to move my token immediately?

Yes. 

TRACK SPACES

13. When do I collect $200 for passing GO?

Whenever you land on Go or move past it during a turn. 

14. When I land in Income Tax, can I still opt to pay 10% of my assets instead of $200?
No, the only option available is to pay $200. 
15. If my token is on “Just Visiting” can I choose to go to Jail?

No. 
16. When I’m in jail, can I roll again if I get out by rolling a double?
No. Use the double you rolled as your move. 

However, if you pay a $50 fine or use a card to get out of jail before you roll and then roll a double, move and roll again (it was not the double that got you out of jail).

CARDS

17. Can I use a Get out of Jail Free Card to pay $50 bail even after I’ve rolled three times and must leave jail?

Yes. This saves you having to pay a $50 fine.

18. Someone accidentally flips the wrong card (e.g. Chance instead of Community Chest). What happens now?

The banker shows the card that was shown by accident to all players, then returns it to the bottom of the deck. The player whose turn it is now takes the top card from the correct pile and acts on it as normal. 

BUYING, SELLING AND TRADING

19. Can I sell houses to other players?
No. You can only sell houses and hotels to the bank (at half their original price). 

20. Can I sell properties to the bank? 
No. If you go bankrupt because of what you owe the bank, give your Title Deed cards to the banker, who auctions them off to the highest bidder.
21. Can I sell a Get Out of Jail Free card for more than $50?
No. You can sell it for any amount up to $50, but no more.

22. Is it possible no one will bid at an auction for a property?

Yes, but it would make no sense. The minimum bid is $1. If you buy a property for this amount and mortgage it immediately you are guaranteed to make a profit on that property. In the unlikely event that there are no bids, the banker awards the property to the player with the most money, for the price of $1.

23. How much time can a trade or deal between players take? 

As a general guide, no single trade should take longer than 60 seconds. If more than one trade is made on the same turn, the whole negotiation should not take longer than 5 minutes. The banker can allow players a little longer if it is not disrupting the game. However, if the banker thinks players are intentionally trading slowly to delay the game, they may involve the judge to make the decision to stop the trade and allow the next player to roll. 

Note: If trade seems to benefit everyone and all players wish to keep trading, the judge is likely to allow it to continue. However, if it is arguable that some players are working together to delay the progress of the game to stop another player advancing, the judge will move the game on.
24. Can I agree to favour another player later in the game to avoid paying rent. E.G. “I won’t any build hotels on the dark blue spaces if you let me off rent on the property I’ve just landed on”?
No. This counts as forming partnerships with another player and is not allowed. You can only trade in money, properties or cards you have at the time of the deal. 

E.G. Player A lands on B’s property. The rent is huge. Player B cannot let A off the rent in exchange for a promise that A will do the same in return if B lands on one of their properties later in the game. However, they can agree to take some of A’s properties instead of rent, as those properties belong to A at the time of the trade. 

25. During an auction because of a housing shortage, can I still trade with other players? 

No. No trading is allowed during a housing shortage auction.

26. Can I make a trade with one player during another player’s turn?
No. Trades that take place during a turn must involve the player whose turn it is. Between turns, any player can trade with any other player.

E.G. Player A rolls. Player B tries to trade with Player C in order to affect the outcome of A’s turn. This is not allowed. 

However, you can discuss trades, without stopping the game, at any time. Keep rolling the dice and taking turns as you discuss. Using the example above, players B and C can discuss trades while player A is having a turn, but they cannot complete a trade until player A has finished.

27. How many times can I trade one property with the same player?
There is no hard and fast rule to say that the same property cannot change hands any number of times between any number of players. However, forming parnterships with one player to work together against another player or players is not allowed. If a judge considers your repeated trading to be this kind of partnership, they have the right to stop it happening. The decision is at the judge’s discretion and their word is final.
28. If, during a building shortage, I want to buy houses for my properties and another player wants to break down a hotel and swap it for houses, who gets priority?
You do. Players who want to build always have priority.

29. What happens when more than one player wants to break down hotels for houses at the same time, but there is a limited number of houses left?

Where possible, the banker divides the houses equally between the players. Spare houses cannot be sold this turn. Players receive half the house’s value in cash for the remaining houses. 

E.G. Players A and B both want to break down hotels. There are 4 houses left. Both players receive 2 houses each plus half the cash value of the other two houses.
If houses cannot be shared out equally, any remaining houses stay in the bank. If, in the example above, there were 5 houses left instead of 4, players would buy the same number of houses and one would remain in the bank.

30. In a housing shortage when two or more players are bidding for the same houses, can I change the number of houses I want to buy during the auction?

No. Players must announce how many houses they want before the auction starts. You cannot increase the number of houses you wish to bid for once the auction has started. However you may decide not to bid for some of the houses you originally asked for (for example, if you run low on funds).

31. Can I still trade with my opponent if there are only two of us left in a preliminary game?
No. In preliminary games (all games except the semi-final and final), no further deals or trades are allowed when only two players are left.

BANKRUPTCY

32. If I go bankrupt to another player during my turn, can I mortgage properties that were not mortgaged at the start of that turn before giving them to that player?
No. If you cannot raise the full amount you need to pay the other player, hand over your properties in the state they were at the start of that turn. E.G. If you had three mortgaged properties and three unmortgaged ones before you moved for that turn, this is what you must give the player who bankrupted you, even if you initially tried to mortgage properties to raise cash.

This rule stops players from deliberately mortgaging their properties to make the player who bankrupts them pay 10% of the cost of those properties before handing them over. 

33. Can I refuse mortgaged properties I get from a player I have bankrupted?

No. If you don’t have enough money to play the 10% fee to the bank when you receive a mortgaged property from another player, you go bankrupt to the bank.

DICE

34. Can I roll the dice one at a time?

No. All three dice must be rolled at once. If this does not happen, ignore all dice and roll again. 

Exceptions: 

· Roll only the two number dice on your first tour around the track. Start using the Speed Die only once you have passed GO for the first time. 

· At any time in the game, when rolling doubles to get out of jail, leave out the Speed Die and roll the two number dice at the same time.

35. If I roll all three dice instead of just the number dice (e.g. when rolling to get out of jail or during my first trip around the board), should I ignore that roll and roll again?

No. Move according to the number dice and ignore the Speed Die, which you rolled by mistake.

36. If I rolled a triple, do I roll again like I do after rolling a double?

No. A triple lets you move to any space on the board and take action for that space. Your turn is then over.

Note: The only time a triple counts as a double is if you have already rolled 2 doubles on your turn and you then roll a triple. In this case only, the matching roll on the number dice counts as a double and you go to jail.

37. Can I use a triple on the dice to circle the board and land on back on the space I started on?

Yes. If you roll a triple, you can land on any space on the board. If you choose to go once around the board and land on your current space, collect $200 for passing GO.

38. What is the proper etiquette when deciding how to move if I roll the Bus?

If you roll the bus, you can decide to move then number of spaces you rolled on die A, die B or a combination of the two (E.G. you roll 2 and 6. You can move 2, 6 or 8 spaces).

Once you have moved your token and let go of it, that is your move. 

You do not have to announce which option you are going to choose unless the banker asks you to. If this happens, give your answer. You must now stick to this move and cannot change your mind.

39. I’m not clear on the Mr Monopoly rule. If there are no unowned properties for me to land on and buy, what do I do?

When you roll Mr Monopoly and there are no unowned properties left, you must move to the next property where you would have to pay rent. Skip over mortgaged properties, even if they’re owned by another player. If all the properties owned by other players are mortgaged, meaning there is no space on the whole board that would make you pay rent, leave your token where it is.

40. When a player has rolled and moved according to Mr Monopoly on the Speed Die, can I ask what space they landed on with the number dice before the last part of their move?
Yes. It is considered unfair play to rush ahead in order to hide where you first landed when you roll Mr Monopoly as rent may be owed to another player on that space. According to Monopoly Championship etiquette, players rolling Mr Monopoly must move their token to the first property, take your hand away, then advance to the next property. 
41. If I roll Mr Monopoly, can I trade or build between moving according to the number dice and moving according to Mr Monopoly?

Yes.  You can build and trade as soon as you have moved according to the number dice, then finish your turn by moving according to Mr Monopoly and taking the action for the space you land on.
42. If I roll Mr Monopoly and owe rent on the first space (which the number dice took me to) AND would owe rent on the property the Mr Monopoly part of my roll takes me to, but I don’t have enough money to pay both, what do I do?

Although you can see where you will have to land before moving, treat these as two separate parts of your turn. Work out what you owe. If you would not be able to raise enough money to pay both rents by trading, you are declared bankrupt. You cannot trade with another player (i.e. you cannot mortgage any properties or sell them to another player – see FAQ 32) . Now pay your rents in turn. 

· Pay the rent for the space the number die took you to. If you cannot raise enough cash to pay this rent in full, go bankrupt to the player you owe according to the standard bankruptcy rules. 
· If you still have cash left, pay the rent for the space Mr Monopoly took you to. You will go bankrupt to this player. 
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